Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type – Caldecott Honor Book

March 20, 2011

 

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type by Doreen Cronin has been a favorite book in my  household for several years.  I first stumbled upon this book as an undergraduate student and instantly fell in love with this hilarious story as well as the big-eyed farm animals who graced the pages of the book.  Betsy Lewin, the illustrator of this comical tale, used watercolors to bring the animals fromFarmer Brown’s farm to life.  Each creature is bright-eyed and is sure to bring a smile to a child’s face.  I’ve read this book countless times in my classroom and to my own children at home.  In fact, after reading Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type, I also purchased Giggle, Giggle Quack, Duck for President, and Dooby, Dooby, Moo, which were also written by Doreen Cronin and illustrated by Betsy Lewin. 

My love for this story also takes me back to my childhood.  I grew up next to my grandfather’s farm and loved to travel his farmland looking at his livestock and any other animal that set foot on his farm.  As an adult, my adventures with farm animals continue as my two-year-old soon has a fascination with cow, goats, and any other animal that makes a “funny” noise.

I stumbled upon this Scholastic Video on Youtube: an animated version of the story read by Randy Travis… Enjoy!

Image obtained from http://www.goodreads.com.  Video obtained from http://www.youtube.com

Leave a Reply

