The Hello, Goodbye Window – Caldecott Award Winner

March 12, 2011

The Hello, Goodbye Window, written by Norton Juster and illustrated by Chris Raschka, winner of the 2006 Caldecott Medal, is one of my favorite children’s books of all time.  It is an absolutely beautiful story about a little girl who loves to visit her grandparents.  Nanna and Poppy’s house is a place where wonderful things happen and it’s all because of the kitchen window – a window that looks like a normal window…but it’s not.  It’s the Hello, Goodbye window!  The illustrations within the book are somewhat abstract.  Colors are “outside the lines,” which make it more appealing and childlike.  When reading the story, it’s almost as if the little girl (the main character) has written and illustrated the story all by herself.  As she shares her memories, you feel as though you are experiencing them with her via the bright, colorful illustrations.  My favorite pages are those of the night sky as she sees it from looking out of the Hello, Goodbye Window with her Poppy.

I cannot say enough about this book.  I can only reiterate that it is one of my absolute favorites.  In fact, I own 3 copies.  I keep one in my elementary classroom, and I have 2 copies (one for each of my children) at home.  If you haven’t read this book, you should.  My advice is to skip the library, and just buy yourself a copy.  Once you read it, you will want a copy of your own…or maybe 2 or 3 copies…

Image obtained from http://www.barnesandnoble.com

Leave a Reply

